De Silvestro Completes Two Day Test With Sauber

Sauber’s affiliate driver Simona de Silvestro was behind the wheel of the 2012 C31 this weekend for a two-day test with the Swiss outfit.

The Swiss driver was behind the wheel of a Formula One car for the first time, after signing as an affiliate driver with Sauber earlier this year. The test was held at Ferrari’s Fiorano circuit in Italy and was held to help de Silvestro familiarise herself with Formula One cars. 25-year-old de Silvestro began racing in the American IndyCar series in 2010 and was that year awarded the Indy 500 Rookie of the Year award.

Although it’s something very special to drive a Formula one car, I was not too nervous in the morning,” de Silvestro said after her first day of running. “I was more focused on what my job would be. but, after completing the installation lap, I realised that this was my first lap in a Formula One car and that this was something really special.

Overall I’m happy with my first day in a Formula One car. I concentrated mainly on understanding the tyres and finding out how to get the best out of them. And with every outing I learned more about the behaviour of the car.

Physically I feel quite good, which is definitely a result of my preparation in recent months. I have been training really hard and this paid off. 

The feeling you get driving a Formula One car is just awesome!” she concluded.

De Silvestro completed a total of 180 laps between the two days which is enough to earn her FIA Super License, a license which any driver much posses before they take part in a race weekend. To do so, a driver must have driven 300km in an F1 car, while de Silvestro has completed 540km.

Images courtesy Sauber Motorsport AG. 

Leave a comment

Filed under F1, Test

Leave a Reply

