FP1: Hamilton Leads Mercedes 1-2

Lewis Hamilton came to the Bahrain International Circuit as the winner of last weekend’s Malaysian Grand Prix, and has set himself as the odds-on favourite to top the podium again this weekend after topping the opening practice session. Hamilton’s fastest lap was two-tenths faster than his team-mate, who took second behind Hamilton at the race last weekend, which looks to be a good omen for the Silver Arrows for this weekend.

Fernando Alonso was third for Ferrari, who believe that they can out-do Red Bull this weekend due to their ability to effectively manage their fuel conservation. Kimi Raikkonen was sixth in the other Prancing Horse, while the Red Bulls were tenth (Vettel) and fourteenth (Ricciardo), which goes to show that Ferrari’s speculation could have some validity.

Nico Hulkenberg was fourth for Force India with Jenson Button in fifth for McLaren. Kevin Magnussen was seventh in the other McLaren, marginally ahead of Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat and Sergio Perez in eighth and ninth. Felipe Massa was eleventh for Williams while the team’s reserve driver, and likely replacement for Massa, Felipe Nasr, took the Williams to thirteenth during FP1. Jean-Eric Vergne was twelfth for Toro Rosso.

Another reserve driver out on track was Holland’s Robin Frijns for Caterham, and he beat team driver Marcus Ericsson by three tenths of a second. Ahead of the two Caterham drivers, who filled out the bottom of the grid, were the Marussia drivers of Max Chilton and Jules Bianchi in nineteenth and sixteenth respectively, with Lotus’ Romain Grosjean in between. Giedo van der Garde was handed the morning session by Sauber and he finished the session in eighteenth. Pastor Maldonado was sixteenth for Lotus as they hope to recover from two consecutive DNFs.

Free Practice 1 Results:

  1. Lewis Hamilton
  2. Nico Rosberg
  3. Fernando Alonso
  4. Nico Hulkenberg
  5. Jenson Button
  6. Kimi Raikkonen
  7. Kevin Magnussen
  8. Daniil Kvyat
  9. Sergio Perez
  10. Sebastian Vettel
  11. Felipe Massa
  12. Jean-Eric Vergne
  13. Felipe Nasr
  14. Daniel Ricciardo
  15. Adrian Sutil
  16. Pastor Maldonado
  17. Jules Bianchi
  18. Giedo van der Garde
  19. Romain Grosjean
  20. Max Chilton
  21. Robin Frijns
  22. Marcus Ericsson

Image courtesy Mercedes AMG F1 Team.


Leave a comment

Filed under F1, Free Practice Report

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s