Hamilton Sets The Pace In Malaysia

Lewis Hamilton was the fastest man during Friday morning’s practice session ahead of this Sunday’s Malaysian Grand Prix. The Briton, whose best result in Sepang was second in 2007, edged out Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg who finished second and third respectively.

It was a promising omen for Hamilton who failed to set a single lap as the same session at the Australian Grand Prix two weeks ago. While Hamilton’s run was free of any technical gremlins, the same could not be said for the Lotus drivers, both of whom had to be recovered: Romain Grosjean pulled over after twenty minutes, while Maldonado went up in smoke with around twenty minutes left in the session. While Grosjean’s E22 was fixed up and he got back out on track, Maldonado climbed from his cockpit and left his mechanics to try to have the car ready for the afternoon session

Caterham who, like Lotus, run Renault power, were forced to call an end to his morning activity when a problem was discovered in the energy store. Aside from Kobayashi and the two Lotus’, no one else seemed to be suffering from any noteworthy issues.

The majority of extracurricular activity this morning came as a result of spins: Adrian Sutil spinning at the pit entrance, Marcus Ericsson spinning out of the last corner and Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa both spinning into the run-off area at turn 10. Lewis Hamilton out-braked himself at turn 14 and took the scenic route through the gravel in the final seconds of the session, as if to celebrate his fastest lap. Finally, Kevin Magnussen had a peculiar issue when the car shut itself off in the pit entrance: he required the assistance of marshals who pushed him some bit towards the pits before simply giving up and walking away, leaving the Dane stranded until marshals from a different post had run to him.

Free Practice 1 Results:

  1. Lewis Hamilton
  2. Kimi Raikkonen
  3. Nico Rosberg
  4. Jenson Button
  5. Kevin Magnussen
  6. Jean-Eric Vergne
  7. Sebastian Vettel
  8. Nico Hulkenberg
  9. Felipe Massa
  10. Valtteri Bottas
  11. Fernando Alonso
  12. Daniel Ricciardo
  13. Adrian Sutil
  14. Daniil Kvyat
  15. Esteban Gutierrez
  16. Jules Bianchi
  17. Marcus Ericsson
  18. Max Chilton
  19. Kamui Kobayashi
  20. Sergio Perez
  21. Pastor Maldonado
  22. Romain Grosjean

Image courtesy Mercedes AMG F1 Team.


1 Comment

Filed under F1

One response to “Hamilton Sets The Pace In Malaysia

  1. Pingback: Rosberg Leads Raikkonen In Afternoon Session | Ben Sweeney's F1 Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s