Perez Stays Quickest While Red Bull Show Signs Of Recovering

Sergio Perez stayed on top for Force India as pre-season testing continued at the Bahrain International Circuit. After topping the first day of the third test by a big margin, Perez marginally beat Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso to the top spot on the time sheets. Perez’s 108 laps in the VJM-07 was the second most of any driver while Alonso clocked up an impressive 122 laps of the Sakhir circuit.

However the talking point lay with those in third place overall; Daniel Ricciardo and his Red Bull who managed a solid 66 laps given the problems they had faced thus far. His run was completely smooth and the team say they were also able to use the laps to clock up some pit stop practices and aerodynamic evaluations.

Felipe Massa clocked up 103 laps on his way to fourth overall for Williams. The Brazilian’s run was flawless as he too practiced race simulations and pit stops. In fifth was Jenson Button whose day got off to a slow start when his MP4-29 ground to a halt on his twentieth lap. The team retired the car to repair it and it wasn’t until the last hour that Button re-emerged. His former team-mate, Lewis Hamilton, also ran into difficulties when a gearbox issue forced the team to call it a day after 89 laps.

Marussia had an extremely important day on track yesterday when they completed 75 laps. Having missed the first pre-season test, the team were blighted with issues during the second test which severely hampered their track time. Bianchi managed to clock up an un-interrupted 75 laps today; an extremely positive omen for the outfit.

Pastor Maldonado’s Lotus had a fiery end to his day and Lotus being Lotus took it in their stride and tweeted, “Sufficient char-grilling to render us out for the rest of today”, and this gave them a grand total of 31 laps. Marcus Ericsson also had a smokey exit to his day when the Caterham slowed out of turn four. His 55 laps until that point had given the team some information and this will be some consolation for the team.

Sergio Perez Force India 1.35.570 108 laps
Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1.35.634 122 laps
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1.35.743 66 laps
Felipe Massa Williams 1.36.707 103 laps
Jenson Button McLaren 1.36.901 52 laps
Jules Bianchi Marussia 1.38.092 75 laps
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1.39.041 89 laps
Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1.39.636 61 laps
Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1.39.976 106 laps
Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1.41.613 31 laps
Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1.42.516 55 laps

Image courtesy Sahara Force India Formula One Team. 


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s