Massa Fastest As Jerez Test Draws To A Close


Felipe Massa was the fastest man in the fourth and final day of pre-season testing at the Circuito de Jerez.

The Williams driver set a fastest lap time of 1.28.229 on the rain affected circuit, clocking up 86 laps in the process. His closest rival was his former team-mate, Fernando Alonso, whose prancing horse was nine-tenths shy of Massa’s best. Alonso set 115 laps throughout the course of the day which was the most of anybody.

Daniel Juncadella was in the driving seat at Force India. The Spanish reserve driver ran an impressive 81 laps, putting him third overall on the timesheets. Kevin Magnussen, McLaren’s Danish rookie, was fourth overall, having led yesterday’s test. His 110 laps, double his total from yesterday, were interrupted in the final minutes when he stuck the nose of the MP4-29 into the barriers. Daniil Kvyat simultaneously spun his STR9, leaving his total amount of laps at a mere nine.

Lewis Hamilton was fifth down the order with 41 laps under his belt, ahead of Jules Bianchi who took the new Marussia out for the first time this season. The Frenchman set an below-average 25 laps en route to a 1.32.222 lap time. Adrian Sutil was next down the order with 69 laps for Sauber. His C33 was remarkably off pace today, with Sutil’s best lap time over eight seconds behind that set by Massa. Sutil spun the car too, but caused no damage.

Nico Rosberg had the morning shift in the MGP-04, lapping Jerez 91 times. His 1.36.951, set in the wet morning conditions, were six seconds behind that set by his team-mate in the dry afternoon running.Kamui Kobayashi finished the day ninth overall for Caterham, his 54 laps giving him a lap time fifteen seconds behind the Ferrari up front. He was followed by Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo, the latter who had another disastrous day in the RB10 whose mechanical woes look to be far from over.

Felipe Massa Williams 1.28.229 86 laps
Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1.29.145 115 laps
Daniel Juncadella Force India 1.29.457 81 laps
Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1.30.806 110 laps
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1.30.822 41 laps
Jules Bianchi Marussia 1.32.222 25 laps
Adrian Sutil Sauber 1.36.517 69 laps
Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1.36.951 91 laps
Kamui Kobayashi Caterham 1.43.193 54 laps
Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1.44.016 9 laps
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1.45.374 7 laps

Photo via Felipe Massa. 


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s