Perez Confirms McLaren Exit

In the latest of several big driver announcements this week, Sergio Perez has confirmed he will not be racing for McLaren in 2014.

The Mexican driver, who made the move from Sauber to McLaren to replace Lewis Hamilton this year, confirmed his exit on a statement released over his Twitter profile.

First of all, I would like to thank McLaren for giving me the opportunity to be with them this season,” read the statement. “It has been an honor for me to have been in one of the most competitive teams in the sport and I do not regret even a big having joined them. I have always given the best of me for the team and still despite this I could not achieve what I aimed for in this historic team. 

“I am committed to deliver very good results in these last two races, especially in Austin. I am so much looking forward to see all my people gathered together, feel their energy and show them the best of me. I would like to say to every single one of my fans around the world and in my country that I am eternally grateful to them. They have never let me down, especially in difficult moments like these, I truly appreciate their support, they have never forgotten me.

I would like to wish the team the very best for the future. I will always be a fan of McLaren. In the meanwhile I will be looking at my future to ensure my position in the best possible package to fight for wins.”

Speculation had arisen earlier this week that suggested that Danish rookie Kevin Magnussen would step in to replace Perez, after the team found that Perez was consistently significantly slower than team-mate Jenson Button. This speculation was furthered when Perez publically bashed the team over their lack of organisation in what has turned out to be the historic team’s worst season since 1980.

Perez will be left with very few options for next year, with Lotus, Force India, Sauber, Marussia and Caterham the only teams offering seats.

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

