Yet Another Double DNF For Force India

Force India were left bemoaning their third double DNF of the season, when both drivers failed to finish the Italian Grand Prix.

Paul di Resta took himself out of the race on the first lap by out-braking into Turn 5 and losing his front wheel to an innocent Romain Grosjean. On the other hand, Adrian Sutil dropped from the race on the penultimate lap whilst suffering from brake issues. The team also suffered a double DNF at the Malaysian and Hungarian Grand Prix.

“A tough race today,” Sutil said, “and in the end we had to retire the car because of issues with the brakes. I tried my best and I don’t think we could have delivered anymore because I was on the limit throughout the race.

“The pit stop was good, but the team had to hold me on the exit because Maldonado was coming in, which meant I lost a position to Gutierrez. I was able to pass him again on the track, but there were some quick cars with fresher tyres and there was no way to hold them off.

“Points were not too far away, but overall we didn’t have the pace this weekend.”

Di Resta, who received a post-race reprimand for his crash, said it was a weekend to forget: “It has been one of those weekends to forget, starting with the brake failure yesterday and the early retirement today. I just got caught out going into the second chicane because the cars ahead of me got backed up – I guess they were reacting to the tussle going on ahead of them. I locked both fronts trying to stop the car and ended up hitting Grosjean. Unfortunately it was too late to take avoiding action.

“Now we need to look forward to Singapore and put this one behind us.”

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

