More Bad Luck For Vergne In Monza

More bad luck struck Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne who suffered his fifth blameless retirement of the season. The Frenchman was battling McLaren’s Jenson Button when his STR8 gave up and he dropped from the race. What was initially thought to be an engine failure later transpired to be a transmission issue, as Vergne explains:

“Everything was going well, I wasn’t actually in a battle at the time and was conserving my tyres and controlling Button behind me quite easily. Then I felt something was wrong and had to stop at the side of the track. I said on the radio I thought the engine had gone, but actually it was still running and it seems I had some sort of transmission problem. A real shame, especially as I knew my final stint on the hard compound tyre would be even stronger.

I would definitely have finished quite high up in the points as the guys ahead were not pulling away from me. I seem to be suffering a lot of bad luck this season, but I keep believing the turning point will come soon.”

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

