Vettel Takes Dominant Belgian Grand Prix Win

Sebastian Vettel charged to victory at the Belgian Grand Prix. The German was untouchable since storming away from pole-man Lewis Hamilton on the first lap.

The entire grid made it cleanly through the first corner and Eau Rouge before Vettel made the overtake by massively out-dragging Hamilton into Les Combes. Behind them, the Marussias backed down the order to twentieth and twenty-first while Giedo van der Garde, who impressed on Saturday by taking fourteenth on the grid, dropped back to sixteenth. Fernando Alonso was a man on a mission, charging from ninth to fourth on the first few laps but Mark Webber suffered one of his usual bad-starts and dropped to sixth.

Sergio Perez and Romain Grosjean were battling hard – the Mexican forcing the Lotus driver off the track at Les Combes and forcing Grosjean to take to the escape road. Perez earned himself a drive-through penalty for his efforts. Felipe Massa was the first man to pit while Charles Pic followed a poor Qualifying with a poor race, becoming the first driver to drop from the race, as the result of an oil issue.

Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton scrapped for third while Felipe Massa and Mark Webber traded fastest laps after their respective pit stops. Adrian Sutil, Paul di Resta and Sergio Perez were also scrapping – the trio heading into Eau Rouge three abreast. Eventually Sutil trumped the McLaren and di Resta fell into place behind the Mexican.

Kimi Raikkonen struggled with the brakes on his Lotus race-long and finally lost braking power at the bus-stop chicane – shooting past Felipe Massa into the run-off area and pulling into the pitlane to retire the car. It’s the Finn’s first retirement since his return to F1 and brings to and end, the record breaking run of consecutive points finishes.

Not long afterwards, Pastor Maldoando and Esteban Gutierrez were fighting tooth and nail into the bus-stop chicane. Maldonado went wide around the outside and when rejoining the track, tapped Adrian Sutil and then hit the other Force India of Paul di Resta, ripping the rear wheels and rear wing off the car. As a result, Maldonado was handed a ten second Stop/Go penalty.

Jean-Eric Vergne and Nico Hulkenberg were also battling hard, the Frenchman pushing the German off track at Les Combes. Max Chilton was punished by stewards for ignoring blue flags. Gutierrez, also, won a penalty – this one for leaving the track and gaining an advantage.

A late battle between Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton for third was uneventful and Sebastian Vettel crossed the line to win the Grand Prix. Fernando Alonso led an extraordinary charge from ninth to second while Lewis Hamilton dropped from pole to third throughout the race. Caterham’s Giedo van der Garde dropped from his fourteenth in Qualifying to sixteenth in the race and Daniel Ricciardo recovered his poor Qualifying to score a point with tenth.

  1. Sebastian Vettel
  2. Fernando Alonso
  3. Lewis Hamilton
  4. Nico Rosberg
  5. Mark Webber
  6. Jenson Button
  7. Felipe Massa
  8. Romain Grosjean
  9. Adrian Sutil
  10. Daniel Ricciardo
  11. Sergio Perez
  12. Jean-Eric Vergne
  13. Nico Hulkenberg
  14. Esteban Gutierrez
  15. Valtteri Bottas
  16. Giedo van der Garde
  17. Pastor Maldonado
  18. Jules Bianchi
  19. Max Chilton
  • Kimi Raikkonen – Brakes
  • Paul di Resta – Collision
  • Charles Pic – Oil

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s