Hamilton Beats Vettel To Hungarian GP Pole

Lewis Hamilton has taken pole position at the Hungarian Grand Prix. The Briton was the surprise of the session in what looked to be a dead-set Vettel pole. Lotus’ Romain Grosjean took third in an impressive Qualifying session for the Frenchman while Mark Webber finished tenth following yet another KERS failure on his RB9. Jenson Button was thirteenth for McLaren, as opposed to ninth for Perez, while Paul di Resta got it wrong in Q1 and will start eighteenth tomorrow. 

Having missed the entire morning practice session due to an engine change on his Sauber, Esteban Gutierrez wasted no time in taking to the track to set his first lap. It wasn’t a bad attempt given the ‘green’ track conditions and when the next driver, Sutil, set a time, nearly five minutes later, he went a second and a half down on the Mexican. Maldonado and Di Resta circulated next, followed by Pic, Chilton and Bottas with the latter taking the top spot with ten minutes remaining in the session. Daniel Ricciardo, who has progressed to Q3 in the last three races, took the top spot on the time sheets temporarily, but was knocked off when the big guns came out.

Alonso crossed the line half a second up on the Toro Rosso while Raikkonen went second behind the Spaniard. Raikkonen’s team-mate Grosjean then went fastest as Massa went fourth. The Red Bulls crawled out of the pits but Mark Webber’s first attempt went down the drain when he went wide at Turn 1. Vettel was also in trouble, getting caught up behind traffic in the windy second sector. Webber’s next lap couldn’t put him higher than 13th while his team radioed him to tell him he was sporting a problem. Paul di Resta was lurking in eighteenth but couldn’t make it any higher when he ditched his last attempt at making it through to Q2.

Mercedes risked a late lap but it paid off with Rosberg leading Hamilton at the end of the session. Pic was strongest of the backmarkers ahead of team-mate Van der Garde and then the Marussia duo of Jules Bianchi and Max Chilton.

Kimi Raikkonen led the procession out on track when the green light came on for the second Qualifying session. His first attempt was a mediocre lap while Sutil and Rosberg jumped ahead of him and Bottas slipped in right behind the Lotus. Mark Webber was told he was suffering from yet another KERS failure on his Red Bull, and it showed up on the Australian’s timing as he struggled to keep clear of the knockout zone.

Meanwhile, Sebastian Vettel went comfortably to the top ahead of Lewis Hamilton. That was until Nico Rosberg swept in to show Mercedes’ hand and took 1st from his country-man. Grosjean and Alonso went faster than Kimi Raikkonen while the flag flew at the end of Qualifying and Mark Webber, Daniel Ricciardo and Sergio Perez narrowly scraped a place in Q3. Adrian Sutil was knocked out in his 100th Grand Prix and will start eleventh, ahead of Nico Hulkenberg, Jenson Button, Jean-Eric Vergne and the Williams duo.

No one hung about when the green flag flew at the start of Q3. With the first round of flying laps completed, Vettel topped the order with a stunning 1.19.5 while the Mercedes duo lounged eight-tenths behind the German. The Lotus duo were next with Grosjean leading Raikkonen by a hair’s width while Massa led Alonso in the Ferrari battle. Sergio Perez was eighth while Mark Webber and Daniel Ricciardo waited in the pits. With a brief pause between runs, Webber climbed from his RB9 meaning he will start tenth for tomorrow’s Grand Prix.

Meanwhile the remaining nine drivers tackled the track in the hopes of taking pole position. Grosjean came incredibly close to beating Vettel’s time before Hamilton came through and bettered Vettel by 0.03. It was enough for his 30th career pole position. Vettel was second, Grosjean third while Rosberg bettered Alonso, Raikkonen and Massa. Ricciardo set a timed lap which put him ahead of Perez in ninth and Webber in tenth.

  1. Lewis Hamilton
  2. Sebastian Vettel
  3. Romain Grosjean
  4. Nico Rosberg
  5. Fernando Alonso
  6. Kimi Raikkonen
  7. Felipe Massa
  8. Daniel Ricciardo
  9. Sergio Perez
  10. Mark Webber
  11. Adrian Sutil
  12. Nico Hulkenberg
  13. Jenson Button
  14. Jean-Eric Vergne
  15. Pastor Maldonado
  16. Valtteri Bottas
  17. Esteban Gutierrez
  18. Paul di Resta
  19. Charles Pic
  20. Giedo van der Garde
  21. Jules Bianchi
  22. Max Chilton

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s