Ricciardo In No Rush To Secure Red Bull Seat

Toro Rosso’s Daniel Ricciardo maintains he is in no rush to secure the seat at Red Bull in 2014.

The Australian is being hotly tipped to replace county-man Mark Webber at the team when the 36-year-old leaves F1 for the World Endurance Championship at the end of this season. Lotus’ Kimi Raikkonen seems to be the only man who can stand in Ricciardo’s way, but looks comfortable at Lotus.

When asked by Formula1.com if he wanted the new Red Bull driver to be announced sooner rather than later, Ricciardo answered: “Well, I think that it doesn’t really make a difference for me. I think it is the media that gets giddy with excitement. I am happy with where I am and with half the season left I have plenty on my plate.”

Then when asked if he felt he impressed at the Young Driver Test at Silverstone last weekend, he said: “Well, I was pretty satisfied as I came down to the times pretty fast. And now when I think about it, if I had to do it again I would do it exactly the same.”

And finally when asked about Christian Horner’s comments which seemed to rule team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne out of the open seat, Ricciardo said: “Christian said that? He didn’t tell me. That means that my chances are 50-50? Do you have a coin?

It would mean that I am a bit closer to what I want, so let’s see. I still need to have a good weekend. Of course, though, the fewer candidates the better for me.”

1 Comment

Filed under F1

One response to “Ricciardo In No Rush To Secure Red Bull Seat

  1. peteonsport

    I wouldn’t be surprised if the Ricciardo to Red Bull move was a done deal and they’re just waiting for a certain time – possibly in the summer break – to announce it.

Leave a Reply

