Sirotkin Targets Becoming Youngest Ever Driver

Sergey Sirotkin has set his sights firmly on a seat in Formula One next season.

The 17-year-old is the son of Oleg Sirotkin, one of the investors who came in to save the financially struggling Sauber F1 Team after the German Grand Prix. As part of the sponsorship, Sirotkin could take a seat with the Swiss outfit in 2014.

All that stands in the way of a drive is the superlicence required by a driver to compete in Formula One. Should Sirotkin qualify for one, he will almost certainly line up on the grid next March. He would also become the youngest F1 driver in history, a record held by Jaime Alguersuari who was aged 19 years and 125 days when he took part in the 2009 Hungarian Grand Prix.

However, Sirotkin’s FR 3.5 team-manager Igor Salaquarda feels that Sergey may be struggle with the pressure that comes hand-in-hand with Formula One.

To counter this, Sirotkin told Autosport: “At the moment maybe I am a little bit too young, but that doesn’t mean I cannot be ready. I have more than half a year to learn, I am doing a good preparation programme, and I can be ready.

“I don’t think it is going to be a big problem. The chance to be a Formula One driver is not something you can have every day. Okay, maybe spending one more year in World Series, I could be more ready, but after one more year maybe there is no chance for me to be a Formula One driver.

“I don’t think that someone in my place could say ’No, I want to stay in World Series’.”

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

