Rossi Ready For F1

Alexander Rossi feels that he’s ready to make the move to Formula One.

The American is Caterham’s reserve driver and ran for the team at the Young Driver’s Test last weekend at Silverstone. He also took the first practice session for the team at the Canadian Grand Prix in June.

Now he feels he is ready to graduate from GP2, where he races with Caterham, and take a seat in Formula One.

“For me this was another piece of the F1 jigsaw, adding more experience in the CT03 car on top of the Canadian GP FP1 last June. He said. “The main priority for me was to help the team and I think we’ve achieved that. It’s been a productive day and we’re all pleased.

“Caterham F1 Team has good trust in me and I’m very thankful for each opportunity for me to deliver for them. The energy amongst me and the team is fantastic. This test has confirmed to me that I know I’m ready for an F1 race seat.”

Talking about his running at the Young Driver Test, the 21-year-old said: “We didn’t have any reliability issues until late in the day when we had a hydraulics problem and that unfortunately meant I was unable to log a performance run. However, the pace on all the test runs was very consistent and good through the whole programme, delivering very good data for the team.

“We were able to complete most of the run plan and for me and the team this was good. I was easily able to determine the pros and cons from the 2012 car. I was comfortable in the car, the controls and the work performed with the engineers.”

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

