Hamilton Takes Home Pole Position

Lewis Hamilton has taken pole at the British Grand Prix to put him in prime position to win his home Grand Prix for the first time since 2008. Mercedes defied the odds to take a 1-2 when Rosberg finished second. Sebastian Vettel finished third with Mark Webber taking fourth in his last British Grand Prix.

Without the unpredictability of rain to prompt the teams to gamble, they were almost straight out on track. Nico Hulkenberg was the first man out on track and set a benchmark lap of 1.35.806. Team-mate Esteban Gutierrez was the next man across the line and he bettered Hulkenberg’s attempt until Romain Grosjean set his first timed lap to go first. Raikkonen, Bottas, Massa and Maldonado tried to set a faster lap, but couldn’t surpass the Frenchman’s effort.

It was Nico Rosberg with ten minutes gone that managed to improve, setting a 1.31.355 which was soon beaten by Lewis Hamilton who set a 1.30.995 on his first timed lap. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso was struggling to put a lap together, consistently slipping wide at the Maggots/Becketts section which left him fifth with five minutes remaining in the session.

Red Bull’s Mark Webber went out to set his first timed lap at his strongest track, to go third behind the Mercedes duo. McLaren’s Jenson Button was eighteen minutes into the session before he set his first lap which put him eighth for the historic team. Felipe Massa was far into the drop out zone when the checkered flag flew, but could only go 14th. Alonso, who was in the pits, finished 15th.

William’s Valtteri Bottas was the first man in the drop zone, finishing 18th for Williams in their 600th Grand Prix. Esteban Gutierrez was eighteenth for Sauber, Pic the best of the backmarkers while Bianchi, Van der Garde and Chilton filed in twentieth, twenty-first and twenty-second.

Mark Webber was the first man out on track for the second Qualifying session and set a 1.31.3. Adrian Sutil followed Webber around on the medium compound to set a 1.31.4. Paul di Resta and Pastor Maldonado then crossed the line, slipping into 3rd and 4th respectively.

Daniel Ricciardo went third while Vergne went seventh with Felipe Massa going eighth for Ferrari. Nico Rosberg set his first timed lap and set a 1.31.0, which was two tenths faster than Lewis Hamilton who was the next man to set a lap. Kimi Raikkonen’s first lap put him ninth while Jenson Button’s first lap at his home circuit put him only 11th. It set Jenson up for yet another disappointing home round.

Sebastian Vettel finally took to the track to set a lap and immeadietly went fastest. The German’s efforts put him 0.03 faster than Rosberg while Williams’ Maldonado set a lap and stayed 14th. Jean-Eric Vergne was fighting hard to set a top-ten lap but went wide at the Maggots/Becketts section to lose several seconds and ruin the attempt. Sergio Perez couldn’t better 12th while Daniel Ricciardo split the Mercedes and went third.

Paul di Resta put in a hot lap to go 5th while Jenson Button went 10th and Fernando Alonso went 8th to bump Jenson down to 11th. Mark Webber went second in the last seconds while Felipe Massa crossed the line last to go merely 12th in a disappointing show for the Brazilian. Button was knocked out at his home round, meaning no McLaren progressed to Q3.

Daniel Ricciardo was straight out on track for the third Qualifying round and was followed out Mark Webber, Paul di Resta and Fernando Alonso. Ricciardo’s first lap time was 1.31.5 while Webber crossed the line for a 1.30.5 before being bumped down by Rosberg with a 1.30.2. Lewis Hamilton crossed the line to go quicker still with a 1.30.1 to take provisional pole at his home race. Sebastian Vettel crossed the line to take fourth, ahead of Romain Grosjean, Fernando Alonso and Daniel Ricciardo.

Mark Webber came back online and had pace through the first and second sector, eventually setting a lap good enough for provisional second. Rosberg went first while Hamilton came around the last corner to set a 1.29.6 to wow his home crowd. Sebastian Vettel was the last man across the line to finish third and demote Mark Webber to fourth.

  1.  Nico Rosberg
  2.  Lewis Hamilton
  3.  Sebastian Vettel
  4. Mark Webber
  5. Paul di Resta
  6. Daniel Ricciardo
  7. Adrian Sutil
  8. Romain Grosjean
  9. Kimi Raikkonen
  10. Fernando Alonso
  11. Jenson Button
  12. Felipe Massa
  13. Jean-Eric Vergne
  14. Sergio Perez
  15. Nico Hulkenberg
  16. Pastor Maldonado
  17. Valtteri Bottas
  18. Esteban Gutierrez
  19. Charles Pic
  20. Jules Bianchi
  21. Giedo van der Garde
  22. Max Chilton

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s