De Villota Making F1 Paddock Return

Maria de Villota is to make her return to the F1 paddock for the first time since her horrific crash last July, at this weekend’s Spanish Grand Prix.

The 33-year-old was conducting a straight line test at Duxford Aerodrome before the British Grand Prix last year when her Marussia was involved in a collision with a support truck. De Villota was trapped in her car for more than an hour and subsequently lost her right eye during surgery.

However, her visit to her home Grand Prix this Sunday will be the first time she has made it back to the paddock. She also admitted that she was struggling to sleep before the visit.

“It’s the first race I’m going to after the accident, so I’m finding it harder to sleep.” she told Europa. “It’s hard for me, because I miss it, but I want to see all the drivers at home and I think we’ll see a great race, as we have seen lately. 

“I want to thank many people that I have not seen since the accident, and I’ve been unable to acknowledge the support they gave me, like by putting my star on their helmet.”

Teams and drivers attached her logo, a star, onto their cars and helmets at the British Grand Prix to show support for Maria.

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

