Massa Brings Ferrari To Top In Shanghai

Felipe Massa was the man to beat on Friday afternoon in Shanghai as he stormed to top of the timesheets.

The Brazilian has looked like a new man all season and showed today what he could do, beating Raikkonen to P1 by a tenth. Lotus’ Kimi Raikkonen was second ahead of Massa’s team-mate Fernano Alonso and Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg, who led the morning session.

Mark Webber occupied fifth on the time sheets ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button who stayed sixth and led former team-mate Lewis Hamilton in seventh. Force India lined up eighth and ninth for Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta respectively. Sebastian Vettel was further down than he would’ve hoped for, taking tenth which set him 1.3 seconds off Massa’s fastest lap.

Romain Grosjean was in a Mexican sandwich with Sergio Perez in front of him in eleventh and Esteban Gutierrez behind him in thirteenth. Daniel Ricciardo led a Toro Rosso fourteen-fifteen while Valtteri Bottas grabbed sixteenth ahead of Nico Hulkenberg in seventeenth. Pastor Maldonado ended the day eighteenth.

As usual, Jules Bianchi took nineteenth ahead of the remaining back-markers – Giedo van der Garde in twentieth, Charles Pic in twenty-first and Max Chilton in twenty-second and last.

Sergio Perez was out to recover from his crash at the end of FP1 but instead spun backwards through the gravel at turn 8. He made it out of the gravel just in time for Force India’s Sutil to do the exact same thing. Valtteri Bottas was stuck in the pitlane for the first hour while Chilton suffered oil pressure issues after a mere four laps which saw him miss the session. Returning to the track with just 10 minutes remaining, oil bled from the rear of the Marussia meaning a bemused Chilton had to pull over. 

Apart from the above, the rest of the session went relatively smoothly – as smooth as the track surface littered with Pirelli debris would allow.

  1. Felipe Massa
  2. Kimi Raikkonen
  3. Fernando Alonso
  4. Nico Rosberg
  5. Mark Webber
  6. Jenson Button
  7. Lewis Hamilton
  8. Adrian Sutil
  9. Paul di Resta
  10. Sebastian Vettel
  11. Sergio Perez
  12. Romain Grosjean
  13. Esteban Gutierrez
  14. Daniel Ricciardo
  15. Jean-Eric Vergne
  16. Valtteri Bottas
  17. Nico Hulkenberg
  18. Pastor Maldonado
  19. Jules Bianchi
  20. Giedo van der Garde
  21. Charles Pic
  22. Max Chilton

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s