Webber Tops First Practice Session In Malaysia

Mark Webber has opened his Malaysian Grand Prix challenge by topping the time sheets in the first practice session. The Aussie who is celebrating his 200th Grand Prix weekend in Malaysia was a .06 ahead of Lotus’ Kimi Raikkonen who was then another 0.1 ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel.

Fernando Alonso took his Ferrari to fourth overall which bettered his Brazilian counterpart who managed seventh which saw him nearly nine-tenths off Webber’s pace. Separating the Ferrari’s were Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg and Force India’s Adrian Sutil in 5th and 6th respectively. Paul di Resta finished the day in front of 8th and 9th placed Lewis Hamilton and Romain Grosjean with the latter filling out the top 10.

McLaren were outside the top 10, Jenson Button in P11 and Sergio Perez in P13 separated by Pastor Maldonado. Nico Hulkenberg and Esteban Gutierrez lined up 14th and 15th for Sauber while Valtteri Bottas was 16th, Jean-Eric Vergne 17th and Daniel Ricciardo 18th.

Giedo van der Garde was best of the back when he took his Caterham to 19th ahead of Marussia’s Jules Bianchi. Charles Pic was 21st for Caterham while Max Chilton brought up the back in his Marussia.

It was half an hour into Practice that the first timed lap was set, Max Chilton taking his MR02 around Sepang in a 1.42.513 which was soon knocked into the 1.30’s when Lewis Hamilton had a go at setting a lap. Mark Webber jumped to top with a 1.37.075 which then improved to 1.36.935 to keep the Aussie safely clear of Kimi Raikkonen.

Fernando Alonso, who is also celebrating his 200th Grand Prix weekend, pushed to hard in the excitement and went wide into T1 while his team-mate Felipe Massa caught out a racy Esteban Gutierrez who spun while following the Brazilian into T14.

  1. Mark Webber
  2. Kimi Raikkonen
  3. Sebastian Vettel
  4. Fernando Alonso
  5. Nico Rosberg
  6. Adrian Sutil
  7. Felipe Massa
  8. Paul di Resta
  9. Lewis Hamilton
  10. Romain Grosjean
  11. Jenson Button
  12. Pastor Maldonado
  13. Sergio Perez
  14. Nico Hulkenberg
  15. Esteban Gutierrez
  16. Valtteri Bottas
  17. Jean-Eric Vergne
  18. Daniel Ricciardo
  19. Giedo van der Garde
  20. Jules Bianchi
  21. Charles Pic
  22. Max Chilton

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s