Vettel Tops Timesheets For Third Of Three Practice Sessions

Sebastian Vettel has topped the third of three Malaysian practice sessions. The German follows on from his Aussie team-mate Mark Webber who topped the first session and Lotus’ Kimi Raikkonen who topped Friday’s afternoon session. Today, Webber took fourth overall with Raikkonen behind him in fifth.

Lewis Hamilton was the man right behind Sebastian, demoting Force India’s Adrian Sutil to third. Paul di Resta in the other VJM-07 was in sixth ahead of Jenson Button  who became the first McLaren to break into the top ten all weekend. Felipe Massa took eighth and was separated from team-mate Fernando Alonso by Nico Rosberg in ninth.

Pastor Maldonado was the first man outside the top ten, beating twelfth placed Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg who took thirteen. Romain Grosjean is again well off his team-mates pace, the Frenchman running fourteenth in comparison with the Finn’s fifth. The fifteenth and sixteenth spots were occupied by rookie duo Valtteri Bottas and Esteban Gutierrez who just pipped Jean-Eric Vergne who settled for seventeenth ahead of team-mate Daniel Ricciardo.

Charles Pic was the first of the backmarkers, nineteenth being his prize. Jules Bianchi took his Marussia to twentieth while team-mate Max Chilton was twenty-second and last. Giedo van der Garde finished the session in twenty-first.

Back to the clear conditions, drivers could push to their heart’s content – exactly what Lewis Hamilton did which saw him absolutely grinding a pair of tires, the rubber then flying off his Mercedes on the back straight. Sergio Perez also pushed a little too hard causing a big lock up and a subsequent pair of ruined rubbers.

As for the rest of the grid, the session went on without many incidents, Romain Grosjean running wide in turn 8 merely an exception. But what does look certain is that the grid seems tighter together which will make for a very interesting Qualifying. . . Stay tuned.

  1. Sebastian Vettel
  2. Lewis Hamilton
  3. Adrian Sutil
  4. Mark Webber
  5. Kimi Raikkonen
  6. Paul di Resta
  7. Jenson Button
  8. Felipe Massa
  9. Nico Rosberg
  10. Fernando Alonso
  11. Pastor Maldonado
  12. Sergio Perez
  13. Nico Hulkenberg
  14. Romain Grosjean
  15. Valtteri Bottas
  16. Esteban Gutierrez
  17. Jean-Eric Vergne
  18. Daniel Ricciardo
  19. Charles Pic
  20. Jules Bianchi
  21. Giedo van der Garde
  22. Max Chilton

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s