Vettel wins fastest lap award

Newly crowned triple world champion Sebastian Vettel has added yet another trophy to his cabinet, after being awarded the DHL fastest lap award for 2012 at a special ceremony ahead of yesterday’s season ending Brazilian Grand Prix.

The Red Bull driver secured the award with remarkable ease, setting the fastest lap at six of the season’s 20 Grand Prix, a full four more than his closest rivals, Kimi Raikkonen, Nico Rosberg and Jenson Button. Another eight drivers including Mark Webber who was the recipient last year, set a fastest lap each.

The rules for the award are simple. One point is awarded to the driver who sets the fastest lap in each Grand Prix. The driver who has the most points (Vettel has 6 points this season) at the end of the season wins the award. Since the awards were first held in 2007, it has been won by Kimi Raikkonen (twice), Sebastian Vettel (twice), Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber.

Vettel has been scolded several times this season by his team for unnecessarily pushing the car to the limits while in the lead of the race in an attempt to grab the fastest lap, for example at Korea where he pushed the car to the point where the tires came eerily close to ‘hitting the cliff’ while leading the Grand Prix.


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s