Hamilton on fire in the setting sun

Lewis Hamilton has taken pole position in spectacular fashion in Abu Dhabi after storming to lead two of the three practice sessions this weekend. He was completely unstoppable all weekend and as the sun set in Abu Dhabi, he lit up the timing screens to set a lap 0.3 seconds ahead of Mark Webber in P2. Sebastian Vettel qualified P3 but was forced to pull over on his in lap, possibly being yet another alternator issue for the Renault engine. Pastor Maldonado fulfilled his prophecy of a top 6 position by setting a fantastic lap to go P4 ahead of Kimi Raikkonen in P5. Jenson Button lined up right behind the Iceman to go P6 ahead of Fernando Alonso, who must feel that the championship is gone. Nico Rosberg got out of the car with several minutes remaining, leaving him P8 ahead of Felipe Massa in P9 and Romain Grosjean in P10.

Nico Hulkenberg in his Force India was the first person outside the top 10, followed by Sergio Perez who is under investigation for blocking Bruno Senna. Paul di Resta is a disappointing P13 ahead of an even more disappointed Michael Schumacher. Bruno Senna lines up in P15 ahead of Kamui Kobayashi in P16 who just beat Daniel Ricciardo to P17.

Ambition exceeded adhesion for Jean-Eric Vergne who spun out of T19 with just 1 minute remaining. The Frenchman, who’s contract was renewed this week, went for another flying lap, but could not better 18th, missing 17th by 0.8 seconds. Charles Pic in P20 split the Caterham’s of Heikki Kovalainen in P19 and Vitaly Petrov in P21. Pic’s team-mate Timo Glock couldn’t better P22 ahead of the two HRT’s of Pedro de la Rosa in P23 and Narain Karthikeyan in P24.

Provisional Grid:
1. Lewis Hamilton
2. Mark Webber
3. Sebastian Vettel
4. Pastor Maldonado
5. Kimi Raikkonen
6. Jenson Button
7. Fernando Alonso
8. Nico Rosberg
9. Felipe Massa
10. Romain Grosjean
11. Nico Hulkenberg
12. Sergio Perez
13. Paul di Resta
14. Michael Schumacher
15. Bruno Senna
16. Kamui Kobayashi
17.  Daniel Ricciardo
18. Jean-Eric Vergne
19. Heikki Kovalainen
20. Charles Pic
21. Vitaly Petrov
22. Timo Glock
23. Pedro de la Rosa
24. Narain Karthikeyan


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s