The master steps out, Forever.

Michael Schumacher has announced his second, and what will probably be his last retirement. The German has been the source of much speculation after Lewis Hamilton took his seat at Mercedes, the team that brought Schumacher back into the sport. Some believed that Schumacher would go to Sauber, after Peter Sauber said that he would be welcome at the team. Then, stories broke that Schumi could be called upon to replace Felipe Massa at Ferrari in 2013. However, Schumacher has today in Suzuka, brought an end to all the rumours by announcing his retirement.

Schumacher  returned to the sport and resparked the highly succesful Brawn/Schumacher combination which led to five World Champions with Ferrari. But he has suffered horribly in the Mercedes. A non-competitive car in 2010 and 2011 put the German’s reputation under scrutiny and just to add insult to injury, He suffered a whopping nine-retirements in the first 15 races of the 2012 season which were almost always mechanical.

“I have decided to retire from Formula One at the end of the season, although I am still able to compete with the best drivers of the world,” Schumacher said on his official website. “This is something that makes me proud, and this is part of why I never regretted my comeback. “I can be happy with my performance and the fact that I was continuously raising my game during the last three years,” he said. “But then, at some point it is time to say goodbye.

“I said at the end of 2009 that I wanted to be measured by my success, and this is why I had a lot of criticism in the past three years, which was partly justified. There is no doubt we did not achieve our goal of developing a car capable of fighting for the world championship in those three years. But then it is also clear that I can still be very happy about my overall achievements in Formula One.”

But even after bowing out, he still holds the record for most wins, 91 (Which gives him a 30% win rate, along with a magnificent SEVEN World Champions, a record which will probably never be beaten.

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

