Hamilton magnificent in Monza

Lewis Hamilton has won the Italian Grand Prix from pole position, leading Sergio Perez and Fernando Alonso. 

At lights out, Hamilton lead the field away, while Massa in 3rd jumped Button and challenged Hamilton into Turn 1 but Hamilton dove up the inside and blocked him off. Apart from that, Everyone was very well-behaved through the start although both Webber and Rosberg has bad starts, falling back several places. At the end of the first lap, Alonso was the big winner, gaining four places, up to 6th from 10th. Schumacher in 4th was doing well and holding off Vettel for several laps but Vettel dived up the inside into turn 1. Massa tried his hardest to hold on to Hamilton but was no match for his 2011 rival who just kept extending his lead.

Lap nine saw Vergne launched into the air after his suspension broke and he spun round and over a Kerb. The french-man had a sore landing and his car was wrecked. Lap 10 and Massa had a big queue of Button, Vettel, Schumacher and Alonso right behind him. Button got past him into the Della Roggia chicane and left him trailing as he charged after his team-mate. Down the field, Di Resta and Senna were battling into the Della Roggia for 9th place. Di Resta pushed him wide into the corner, sending the Brazilian straight on. When rejoining the track, He pulled out in front of Webber who had to take action to avoid a collision.

Perez was on the ball and overtook Raikkonen into the Della Roggia chicane in probably the overtake of his career. On Lap 20, Ferrari lost telemetry to the cars, leaving them effectively blind as to fuel consumption. Vettel and Alonso pitted with a close call on the release with Vettel just edging out Alonso in the pit lane. They rejoined behind Massa and battled each other and the slower cars as they made they’re way back up the field. A few laps later, Alonso and Vettel were battling each other for position in the Curva Grande when Alonso tried to pass Vettel on the outside. Vettel stuck to the normal racing line and Alonso was forced out onto the gravel. He kept the foot down and returned to the track behind Vettel complaining of being forced off the track. Unbelievably, Vettel received a drive-through penalty.

On Lap 34, Button’s car failed, sending him onto the grass just before Parabolica. Over the radio, Button guessed that the engine was gone but his engineer informed him that it was a problem in the fuel tank. This brought two Ferrari’s onto the podium, Massa in 2nd and Alonso in 3rd. But Alonso was looking menacing in Felipe’s mirrors, and it wasn’t long until Rob Smedly came on the radio to tell Felipe to slow down and “Preserve the tyre’s”. Massa let Alonso go a few laps later. But Felipe still wasn’t safely on the podium with Perez, one of his possible replacements for 2013, lurking behind him and it wasn’t too many laps before Perez stormed past him.

But it wasn’t over. Perez was so fast it only took him a couple of laps to catch the back of Alonso, and another lap to pass him and make it up to 2nd. With 8 laps left, Perez was 12 seconds behind Hamilton but catching him very quickly. On Lap 43, Mark Webber’s engineer came on the radio warning that Vettel could stop at any second, as he was running with a problem. Four laps later, this became a reality and Vettel’s engineer told him to pull over to preserve the engine. But with more than 90% of the race completed, Vettel would still be classified in the results. Five laps remaining and Schumacher breezed past Webber into P6 and 2 laps later, Webber spun the car coming out of the Ascari chicane. He came very close to slamming the car into the wall but kept it going. However, he had serious flat spots on his tyre’s and had to cruise around for the rest of the lap and pull into the pits to retire, with just 2 laps remaining. Also retiring his car was Nico Hulkenberg who pulled into his garage at the same time.

But despite Perez’s fantastic pace, Nothing could keep Hamilton from winning the Italian Grand Prix, making it a McLaren hat trick of wins. Perez was 2nd and Alonso filled out the podium.

Final Standings:
1. Lewis Hamilton
2. Sergio Perez
3. Fernando Alonso
4. Felipe Massa
5. Kimi Raikkonen
6. Michael Schumacher
7. Nico Rosberg
8. Paul Di Resta
9. Kamui Kobayashi
10. Bruno Senna
11. Pastor Maldonado
12. Daniel Ricciardo
13. Jerome d’Ambrosio
14. Heikki Kovalainen
15. Vitaly Petrov
16. Timo Glock
17. Charles Pic
18. Pedro De La Rosa
19. Narain Karthikeyan
20. Mark Webber – Completed more than 90% and so classified as a finisher
21. Nico Hulkenberg – Completed more than 90% and so classified as a finisher
22. Sebastian Vettel – Completed more than 90% and so classified as a finisher

Jenson Button – Fuel distribution problems
Jean-Eric Vergne – Suspension Failure


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s