Button claims first pole with McLaren

Britain’s Jenson Button has claimed his first ever pole position with McLaren, At Spa Francorchamps.

Despite the amazingly strong pace in most of Practice, both Marussia’s failed to make it out of the first part of Qualifying. Their back-of-the-field companions, Hispania and Caterham were also knocked out in Q1. A hugely frustrated Romain Grosjean was held up by the HRT of Narain Karthikeyan through the entire downhill slope into the Rivage area, making Grosjean loose a massive amount of time. But Romain was saved by a very unlucky Nico Rosberg who missed setting a hot lap by less than one second after backing off to make space. This knocked the German out, leaving him in 18th and a hugely fortunate Grosjean was left in 17th.

Q2 brought a close shave for Bruno Senna who lost his Williams in turn 11 and where a driver would usually skid straight into a barrier, he made a spectacular save and kept the car out of the barrier, even though it did destroy his tyre’s. Sebastian Vettel was the shock drop-out in Q2 with a 1.48.792 not being enough to make it into Q3. Hulkenberg, Massa, Vergne, Ricciardo, Senna as well as Schumacher who is in his 300th Grand Prix weekend, all dropped out alongside Vettel.

The final part of Qualifying left nobody complaining! Kimi Raikkonen came out first and set a 1.48.285 before Jenson Button blew his time out of the water with a 1.47.688. Lewis Hamilton came close to ending his session when he passed Sergio Perez in the pitlane and nearly hit the wall. Perez’s team-mate, Kobayashi set a time to push him up to 2nd. Maldonado slid in behind him to make 3rd place while Raikkonen lines up 4th. In 5th is Sergio Perez, who is just ahead of Alonso in 6th. Webber qualified 7th but will have a 5 place grid penalty for changing his gearbox and will start in 12th. Lewis Hamilton lined up 8th, followed by Grosjean and then Di Resta.

Provisional Grid:
1. Button
2. Kobayashi
3. Maldonado
4. Raikkonen
5. Perez
6. Alonso
7. Webber
8. Hamilton
9. Grosjean
10. Di Resta
11. Vettel
12. Hulkenberg
13. Schumacher
14. Massa
15. Vergne
16. Ricciardo
17. Senna
18. Rosberg
19. Kovalainen
20. Petrov
21. Glock
22. De La Rosa
23. Pic
24. Karthikeyan


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s