Lewis makes it 7 of 7

Lewis Hamilton has won the Canadian Grand Prix, making him the 7th Grand Prix winner in as many races. The Brit started in 2nd place behind reigning World Champion, Sebastian Vettel, but great pace secured him the win, despite him making an extra pit stop.

At lights out, The drivers sprinted down to the 1st corner and arrived at the 2nd corner in exactly the same order as they started, except for Paul Di Resta who leapfrogged Romain Grosjean. Vettel began to pull away from Hamilton ensuring that the 2008 World Champion would not have a DRS advantage on the back straight.

Nico Rosberg has a squabble with Mark Webber over 4th place but the Aussie triumphed when he pushed Rosberg wide into Turn 3. Just after that, Felipe Massa stormed passed Rosberg to move up to 5th. A gap began to build between all the top 5 runners but Massa in 5th showed remarkable pace to begin reeling in Mark Webber. He was showing extraordinary potential to grab his 1st podium since 2010 until he spun in Turn 1 and dropped down to 13th.

Vettel set a new fastest lap to add half a second to his lead over Hamilton until Hamilton set a new fastest lap and shortly had the gap down to 1.8s. Over the next few laps Vettel would pull away only for Hamilton to reel him back in, while Fernando Alonso hung in the background and watched the battle for 1st.

Felipe Massa was the first to pit, after wrecking his tyre’s when he spun. The Brazilian changed to the Yellow marked soft tyres, which were the hard tyre’s for this weekend’s Grand Prix. Di Resta and Schumacher follow him in. Di Resta emerged in 15th in clear air, but Schumacher came out in 17th, behind the Caterham of Heikki Kovalainen who held Jenson Button up for half the Monaco Grand Prix.

Vettel, Hamilton and Alonso were the top three before Vettel pitted. Hamilton led the race for a lap, before handing the lead over to Fernando Alonso when he pitted. Alonso continued for two more laps before pitting and when he rejoined the track, the top three had swapped positions, Alonso 1st, Hamilton 2nd and Vettel 3rd. But, Lewis Hamilton made short work of Alonso’s Ferrari and passed him on the back straight with the aid of DRS.

Karthikeyan spun his HRT in Turn 1 and pulled the car over just before his team-mate De La Rosa pulled into the garage with a brakes issue, to retire the car. Up front, Hamilton continued to stretch out his lead to Alonso and was soon up to a 4 second gap while Vettel stuck to Alonso’s gearbox.

Mark Webber started to set fastest laps and was doing well until he arrived at the back of the Perez/Raikkonen fight for 5th place. He was held up here for 10 laps while he waited for both of them to make their first stop. Rosberg caught Webber in an instant and was ready to pass him before darting off into the pit lane. Webber had a bit of breathing space until he lost it in Turn 3 and nearly spun the car. He dropped away from the Perez/Raikkonen battle and back into Grosjean’s clutches.

Nico Rosberg made a very risky but successful pass on Raikkonen into the last corner while his team-mate was again blighted by bad luck. This weeks bad luck for Schumi is a broken DRS flap which is supposed to fail with the flap down, but instead has left the rear wing wide open. This is of course illegal and it gave him great speed on the straight but cost him badly in the corners. He was shown the black and orange flag and so returned to the pits where his team attempted to man handle the wing down, albeit unsuccessfully and they rolled him back into the pits to retire the car.

With 20 laps to go, Hamilton complained that his rear tyre’s are degrading badly. After asking the team if they are sure that Vettel and Alonso are pitting, he pitted to change tyres. Alonso and Vettel however, do not pit and Hamilton was left with a lot of work to do if he wanted to win the race.

Hamilton however, put in his usual strong performance to reel Alonso and Vettel in by 1.5 seconds a lap to catch them after 12 laps. He made short work of Vettel and went straight on to pass Alonso and regain the lead of the race. Vettel pitted while Grosjean passed Alonso who’s tyre’s had ‘hit the cliff’. Perez was next up to pass Alonso. Vettel was the last to pass Alonso, demoting Alonso from 1st to 5th in 5 laps!

And so, Exactly 5  years today since Lewis Hamilton’s first F1 win, which was also at Montreal, he cruised to his third Canadian win, followed by Grosjean and then Perez. Hamilton’s team-mate however, didn’t have the same success and finished in a dismal 16th after qualifying 10th.

Final Standings:

1. Lewis Hamilton
2. Romain Grosjean
3. Sergio Perez
4. Sebastian Vettel
5. Fernando Alonso
6. Nico Rosberg
7. Mark Webber
8. Kimi Raikkonen
9. Kamui Kobayashi
10. Felipe Massa
11. Paul Di Resta
12. Nico Hulkenberg
13. Pastor Maldonado
14. Daniel Ricciardo
15. Jean-Eric Vergne
16. Jenson Button
17. Bruno Senna
18. Heikki Kovalainen
19. Vitaly Petrov
20. Charles Pic


Timo Glock: Mechanical Failure
Michael Schumacher: Rear-Wing Failure
Pedro De La Rosa: Brakes Failure
Narain Karthikeyan: Mechanical Failure


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s