The charging Bull takes the win

Mark Webber has become the sixth winner in as many races after winning the Monaco Grand Prix for the second time. The Aussie had qualified second but Michael Schumacher who had qualified in his first pole position in his return to F1, was demoted to 6th place after his penalty for his collision with Bruno Senna was put into place.

The big question was, can Mark get off the line in 1st place? Mark is no stranger to bad starts but when the lights went out in Monaco, Mark led the pack into the first corner. Behind him, Romain Grosjean drove Michael Schumacher into the barrier, sending Grosjean into a spin but not supposedly damaging Schumacher’s car. Kamui Kobayashi was the innocent victim, and had nowhere to go but straight into Grosjean’s car, and then sideways into the air. Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hulkenberg and Jean-Eric Vergne were forced off the track and cut the corner but were not penalised. Pastor Maldonado, who was given a 10 place grid penalty for purposely crashing into Sergio Perez, crashed into the back of Pedro De La Rosa’s HRT, Sending both of them out of the race and deploying the Safety Car.

Webber keeps the lead on the restart on Lap 3, followed by Rosberg, Hamilton and Alonso. Felipe Massa, who had been promising in Qualifying was clearly faster than his double world champion team mate but no team orders were issued and Felipe Massa could not find away around the Spaniard. Webber really began to pull away from 2nd placed Nico Rosberg with fastest lap after fastest lap.

Then came the suspense. Warnings of rain started to come over the team radio’s with MeteoFrance predicting rain around Lap 30. The ideal pit stop would be lap 25-30 but the teams then had to stretch out the life of their tyres, not wanting to have to pit twice in quick succession. Eventually the teams decided to risk it and the pit stops began. Nico Rosberg the first front runner to pit and he changed to the yellow marked hard tyres. Mark Webber kept the foot down and managed to come out just ahead of Nico Rosberg. Jenson Button, to continue his miserable form, came out behind the 13th placed Heikki Kovalainen, much to his frustration. Fernando Alonso put in two extremely quick laps while Hamilton was in the pits and he managed to jump him during his pit stop.

Then Sebastian Vettel who started in 10th place stepped up to lead the race. Mark Webber was 10 seconds behind him after his pit stop and he seemingly slowed down slightly to slow down the pack to allow Sebastian Vettel to come out higher up the field when he pitted. By lap 46, Vettel was 18 seconds ahead of Webber and then he pitted. He lost positions to Webber, Rosberg and Alonso but made it out ahead of Hamilton.

Meanwhile, Lewis Hamilton was on the radio to complain about bits of the pit boards, falling off and hitting him in the head. Sergio Perez and Kimi Raikkonen had a collision on the way into the Pits when Perez darted in from the wrong side of the track while Raikkonen went up the inside to pass him. Perez was handed a drive through penalty for it.

With 18 laps left, Schumacher came on the radio to complain about a ‘problem’ with the car, presumably from damage from his collision with Grosjean. He pitted 5 laps later but it was to retire the car. Jenson Button also retired his car with damage from contact with Kamui Kobayashi at the start.

The last 18 laps were full of excitement. Webber, Rosberg, Alonso, Vettel, Hamilton and Massa were all seperated by just 5 seconds as they had to negotiate back markers and wet conditions. None of the leaders decided to pit and eventually the ground began to dry and Webber got the grib he needed to pull away. Despite a last lap attempt by Nico Rosberg, Webber crossed the line first.

Final Standings:

1. Mark Webber
2. Nico Rosberg
3. Fernando Alonso
4. Sebastian Vettel
5. Lewis Hamilton
6. Felipe Massa
7. Paul Di Resta
8. Nico Hulkenberg
9. Kimi Raikkonen
10. Bruno Senna
11. Sergio Perez
12. Jean-Eric Vergne
13. Heikki Kovalainen
14. Timo Glock
15. Narain Karthikeyan


Jenson Button – Damage
Daniel Ricciardo – Failure
Charles Pic – Failure
Michael Schumacher – Damage
Vitaly Petrov – Failure
Kamui Kobayashi – Damage
Pedro De La Rosa – Crash
Pastor Maldonado – Crash
Romain Grosjean – Crash


Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s