Raikkonen unexcited by F1 return

In the run up to the Australian Grand Prix, 2007 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen has said that he is not really excited about his return and admitting that he rarely bothered to watch F1 during his absence.

The finn is making his comeback in F1 after a three year leave in which he tried his hand at Rallying, unsuccessfully. However, He is making his comeback into a team that is at the least a long shot, heading into this weekends Australian Grand Prix.

However, Last year, The Renault (Now Lotus) achieved a spectacular 3rd place, granting Vitaly Petrov a well deserved first ever podium. Will they start off well this year aswell?

“I am a little bit older, that’s all, but its the same really,” Raikkonen said. “It really hasn’t changed a lot, the car feels very similar. I was expecting to have more difficulties with it, but its pretty good.”

The 2007 world champion said he did not tune in to F1 much in his time away.

“I didn’t watch much the past few years, same people, similar stuff going on,” Raikkonen said “I had other things to do than watch the races. It doesn’t mean I don’t like the sport – if I didn’t like the sport I would not be here.”

Lotus have impressed in testing, topping the timesheets more than any other team but will it lead to early success in the championship? Raikkonen hasn’t a clue!

“I have no idea where we’re going to be,” He said. “Are we going to be in the front? I don’t know. I hope so.”

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

