Di Resta: I want to drive at Mercedes

Scottish Driver, Paul Di Resta who is about to enter just his second season in F1 has come out saying that he would love to drive for Mercedes. In an interview with Phil Duncan, He says “I’ll be greedy until I reach the maximum, and that will be the championship.”

Di Resta impressed hugely in his first year in the sport, by scoring a point in his first race, finishing 13th in the championship, out qualifying and out racing his team-mate Adrian Sutil and scooping up the Rookie of the Year award out of 2011’s five rookies.

Di Resta has also signed a new one year contract with Force India and will be partnering German Nico Hulkenburg, Who spent 2011 as the reserve driver at Force India.

Di Resta’s 2011 Team Mate, Adrian Sutil could face up to one year for GBH. https://bensweeneysf1blog.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/sutil-to-go-to-trial-charged-with-gbh/

On his 2011 Season, Di Resta had this to say:

“I would say looking at it now it was a positive year. There were obviously ups and downs along the way. There were some times we didn’t maximise what we had, and didn’t take advantage. But there were other times when we probably punched well above our weight. But being critical of myself I always want more.”

Seven time world champion Michael Schumacher’s contract at Mercedes runs out at the end of 2013 and there is mounting speculation that Di Resta will be the one to fill the seat.

“I’d love to drive for them, I’ve got great friends and great support at Mercedes-Benz. I’ve been part of their programme for six years and I’m still very close to them now. I never say never.”

“Right now I am a Force India Formula One driver so the focus is there. But in the future I want to be winning races and  I’ll make my decisions based on that.”

Di Resta will be hoping for another succesful season in 2012.

Leave a comment

Filed under F1

Leave a Reply

